Thursday, Nov. 24, 2011, 20:15


Every Goliath has his David.

Really, I should be unpacking as I have now been at the new house for almost three weeks and things are just in a pile on my bedroom floor. I have lost my phone charger completely, which is proving to be an issue, and I've still not assembled my wardrobe that was delivered last week. I'm doing well.

I'm still on 48-hour weeks except for this week where I'm doing a lightweight 36. All my free time has been spent tootling back and forth to London to see Hazel and the boyfriend - yes! The boyfriend! We had The Chat. It was approached in a rather cunning fashion: we were watching Jurassic Park and talking about what dinosaurs we'd be, and he says, "We make a good couple, I think. ...I can say 'couple', can't I?" Bless. Normally I'm a poor judge of character but I know this guy is a good 'un, mostly because he's very upfront about things - I know neither of us are hiding anything. I just wish we lived closer to each other. Watford and Lewisham aren't exactly next door. Still, it's an hour and half on trains and tubes and the payoff is pretty amazing. So we'll see how it goes, but for now it's going spectactuarly well. As much of a clich� as it sounds, he's woken up something in me and I'm feeling more like myself again. I feel funny and interesting and pretty and kind, and I feel incredibly lucky that I'm going out with him. Best of all, he's funny and interesting and handsome and kind, and he says he feels lucky to be going out with me.

I won't go on too much more, but rest assured I'm happy with it all.

Aside from that, I've been seeing Hazel as well. Last night we went on her university's Sports Night dressed up in riding competition gear doing a four-legged pub crawl. I was so pleased to be able to let go for one night and drink and be silly - I rarely get to just relax these days (except when me and Rob - the boy - are watching films, which we do a lot of as he's still sick after over a month, and I fall asleep on his comfy, comfy chest).

I suppose I don't have an awful lot to say now. Work's fine, the boy is fab, having my best pal close by is proving a winner, and I'm spending a bit too much money but refusing to care. The house is noisy (dog barking next door and lorries on the road right by my window) but I'm never here - tonight I ate only my fifth or sixth dinner here since I moved in. I eat all my meals at work when I'm on, as there's not much choice on shifts as long as mine, and the rest of the time I've been scrounging off Rob and Hazel. But right now everything seems to be working. I've managed to build a lovely house of cards and, if I'm very very careful, I'm hoping it'll stay up.

<<< | >>>


new | old | profile | about | notes | photos | diet | image | host