Thursday, Dec. 15, 2011, 20:57


Jingle ALL the way.

Bah humbug. The festive season is upon us but I don't feel much like celebrating. For one, I won't even be at home for Christmas - I'm working from the 22nd to the 27th, with Christmas Day and Boxing Day at the eating disorders clinic. Christmas with the anorexics... I really wish I was making it up.

Two, I was working so much I got quite ill. I carried on going into work but I had to sit down with my line manager and say, this isn't working and I'm pretty much dying. Also I got my first full month's pay and for the 192 hours I worked, it was just enough to survive. Hopefully they're going to up my pay as I'm on less than minimum wage after tax, but I'm not holding out too much hope. So I'm looking for other jobs, already.

Three, the boy is still wonderful and handsome and marvellous but he's also still ill, and he's got it into his head that it's ME. And he's lost his job. And he's horrendously upset and it breaks my heart that all I can do is sit there and give him hugs. And, to top it all off, I think I've fallen in love with him. I've come to this conclusion because for the last few weeks I've had to bite my tongue to stop myself saying I love you all the freaking time. It just seems to want to get out. But we've been 'official' for just less than 4 weeks, surely it's too early? Still, I've also met and spent a fair amount of time with his right-hand man Ed - his best mate from uni and his closest friend. Ed and I get along spectacularly well, even if he does constantly take the piss out of me for being northern. It's good that I have Ed's seal of approval though as it means we can all sit on Rob's bed of an afternoon and watch slews of terrible action films.

On the plus side, apparently at the moment we have rabbits staying at the house I work in. I'm in tomorrow so I get to play with them, yay! I've also been going to the local dog sanctuary as part of my work with one of the clients, which has been amazing. Work isn't all bad, there's just too much of it and not enough pay. For example: tomorrow I am working a 27-hour day (this is a one-off, but still). I will work 12pm to 6pm at the ASD unit, then 6pm to 11pm waking shift at the eating disorders unit, do a sleep-in shift 11pm to 7am, then a waking shift from 7am to 3pm. Then my work's Christmas party on Saturday evening in Shoreditch (FREE BOOZE) and a late-night stumble to Rob's. Rob is teetotal. Thank god he doesn't care if other people drink.

I'm not sure how much longer I'll continue to write in this thing. I just completely lack the time and motivation these days. In all honesty I didn't expect to still be doing this after uni, hence the whole student moniker. We'll see, but don't be surprised if this suddenly becomes very quiet...

<<< | >>>


new | old | profile | about | notes | photos | diet | image | host